Close Up of Iris Maze

Close Up of Iris Maze

Although iris season in Massachusetts has come and gone by a few weeks now, I wanted post two pictures of local iris that are utterly inspiring. Visiting with a friend in Newburyport, Apryl and I had the chance to visit an incredible garden.

Here, a self-taught garden designer used Siberian iris to create an actual maze. It was just incredible. Even earlier in the season before the iris were blooming, the maze was beautiful, just tonal variations in the grass, subtle and surprising.

Siberian Iris Maze

Siberian Iris Maze

Seeing a plant designed with in this way just opens your mind to all kinds of possibilities. The iris really becomes something else, something beyond itself, this is what I find exciting about design and why I love what I do!

Close Up of Iris Maze

Close Up of Iris Maze

