I think all the snow in Boston and getting over a cold right now is just making me downright blue! I need sun, warmth, flowers and summer!
To lift my spirits and maybe yours too – here  a few simply pretty pictures of flowers – lovely pink ones – a color that always lifts my mood!

First dahlias, because they are both Apryl’s and my favorite summer flower. Here I mixed them with basil for the ultimate summer bouquet:

Dahlias and Basil on my side table

Dahlias and Basil on my side table

(And yes, that is John Adams on my side table, I am still reading it!)

Rose Mallow in Maine

Rose Mallow in Maine

And here, from a garden in Maine. I love Rose Mallow, such an old fashioned flower, kind of like a Hollyhock. Apryl grows these in her garden with great success. So ruffle-y and open. I don’t think they do well in bouquets so they are best appreciated in a friend’s garden (or your own!).

Bud Vase with Dahlia and Mint

Bud Vase with Dahlia and Mint. Photo by Mara Brod Photography.

And lastly, a lovely little bud vase we did for an early October wedding. One little dahlia with magenta “Mokara” orchids, and mint. So simple and pretty.

