After our post yesterday featuring a bridal bouquet with beautiful hellebores, I took a peek at the ones I have planted at my house in Boston. Sure enough, such an early spring bloomer, the hellebores are out and in bloom!

Spring hellebores in the garden

Spring hellebores in the garden

It’s just amazing how sturdy these plants are – perfectly comfortable in 30 degree weather, I just adore them!

Another view of the hellebores in the garden

Another view of the hellebores in the garden

Hellebores are also referred to as the “Christmas Rose” or “Lenten Rose” since they really are the highlight of late winter or early spring gardens (depending on where you live). Without a lot of light needs, most gardens have a nice little spot for them with a mix of sun and shade.

We love using the flower in bouquets, they have such a gentle arching habit to their form and the flowers themselves are so lovely and simple.

Apryl and I are both taking a few days off before the busy season begins, but I hope to post a few photos from my travels in Philadelphia and D.C. – the Cherry Blossom Festival is this week. Somehow despite the fact that I visit D.C. 2-3 times year, I’ve never seen the trees in bloom so I am really looking forward to it!

Petalena

